Philanthropy Awards

Harrison M. Sayre Award

Harrison M. Sayre Award

Harrison M. Sayre Award, given in honor of the Foundation’s founder and volunteer director for 25 years, recognizes leadership in philanthropy in central Ohio. As Mr. Sayre so well stated, “The best way to extend your life is to give to the community.”


2014 — The Crane Family

2013 — Robert Jr. and Mary Lazarus

— Bob and Missy Weiler

2011 — Bob and Peggy Walter

2010 — Limited Brands, Inc. and the Limited Brands Foundation

2009 — Barbara and Al Siemer

2008 — Ann I. Wolfe and John F. Wolfe

2007 — Richard J. Solove

2006 — Don and Thekla Reese Shackelford

2001 — Maj. Gen. Raymond E. Mason, Jr. AUS (ret.) and Margaret E. Mason

2000 — John H. McConnell

1999 — Elizabeth M. Ross
Shirle N. Westwater
John G. McCoy

1998 — John B. (Bernie) Gerlach

1997 — Battelle

1995 — Leslie H. Wexner

1994 — Ingram-White Castle Family

1993 — Early Donors:
Olga Anna Jones
Preston Davis
H. Russell Culp
Robert W. Stevenson

1992 — Robert S. Crane, Jr.
Walter English

1991 — Nationwide Insurance Companies

1990 — Richard Heer Oman

The Columbus Foundation Award

The Columbus Foundation Award

The Columbus Foundation Award is given to organizations that have made a significant difference in the quality of life in our community.


2014 — Wexner Center for the Arts

2013 — Furniture Bank of Central Ohio

— Habitat for Humanity—MidOhio

2011 — Jazz Arts Group of Columbus

2010 — Mid-Ohio Foodbank

2009 — Franklin Park Conservatory

2008 — Columbus Housing Partnership

2007 — LifeCare Alliance and its Volunteers

2006 — Maryhaven and Paul H. Coleman

2005 — Columbus Metropolitan Library

2004 — Virginia O’Keefe and Amethyst, Inc.

2002 — YMCA of Central Ohio, Volunteers, and Staff

2001 — Jimmy Crum and Recreation Unlimited

2000 — Early Leaders of the YWCA, Karen Schwarzwalder, and the YWCA of Columbus

1999 — Cee Cullman and Action for Children

1998 — Volunteers Who Saved the Ohio Theatre, Doug Kridler, and the Columbus Association for the Performing Arts (CAPA)

1997 — Leslie A. Bostic, Buckeye Ranch Service Board, and The Buckeye Ranch

1995 — Nancy Jeffrey, Melvin L. Schottenstein, and the Community Shelter Board

1994 — Sister Mary Andrew Matesich, O.P. and Ohio Dominican College
Arthur G. James, M.D., and The Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Research Institute at The Ohio State University

1993 — Children’s Hospital
Early Leaders: F.O. Schoedinger, Dr. Earl Hayes Baxter, Ms. Truitt (Daisy) Sellers
Contemporary Leaders: Ann I. Wolfe, Dr. Grant Morrow, Stuart W. Williams

1992 — United Way of Franklin County, Inc. and the People of Franklin County

1991 — Thekla R. Shackelford, Arthur J. Kobacker, and I KNOW I CAN

1990 — Melvin B. Dodge, Jack Hanna, and Columbus Zoological Park Association

1987 — Fran Haskins, Operation Feed, and Nationwide Insurance Companies

1986 — Sanford N. Hallock II, Walter English, and Center Of Science and Industry

2011 Leadership in Philanthropy

Leadership in Philanthropy Award

Established in 2011, the Leadership in Philanthropy Award of Community Foundations, Inc. recognizes outstanding philanthropic contributions to communities outside of central Ohio.


2013 — John D. and Jane Kidd

2012 — Founding Board of the Pickaway County Community Foundation

2011 — Evan and Elizabeth Davis

Stay Connected Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube