Skip to Content
February 20, 2015


Contact: Carol Harmon, The Columbus Foundation,, 614/251-4000

National Number Ones Recognized By The Columbus Foundation

COLUMBUS, Ohio (February 20, 2015)—The Columbus community rallied behind a lengthy list of national champions and nationally-recognized individuals, teams, and organizations at The Columbus Foundation’s event on February 17. Celebrating the accomplishments of 2014, civic leaders and community members joined together to honor these champions, to lift up the community’s progress, and to envision an even bigger and better future Columbus.

“We have an obligation to do our part, to pursue excellence and achievement, and to leave things better than when we received them in order to be the best that we can be,” said Doug Kridler, president and CEO. “And we are proud to shine a light on those who are doing so, at the highest levels of achievement in America, if not the world.”

Helping to do just that are this year’s National Number Ones:

National Number Ones

Click for more details and to view larger.


Mayor Michael Coleman
#1 City—Places to Make Your Mark
Forbes Magazine
Defender of Equality, Perfect Score
Human Rights Commission, Municipal Equality Index

Dee Anders
CEO and Executive Director, Ronald McDonald House
Largest Ronald McDonald house in the world

Jeni Britton Bauer
“Most Creative People in Business”
Fast Company

Kelley Griesmer
COO, Pelotonia
Largest single-event cycling fundraiser benefiting cancer

Gene Smith
Director of Athletics, The Ohio State University
2015 Football National Champions & OSU National Champion Athletes

Ken Schnacke
General Manager and President, Huntington Park/Columbus Clippers
Huntington Park: Ballpark of the Year

Patrick Losinski
CEO, Columbus Metropolitan Library
Library Journal American Star Libraries, 5 Star Library

Mark Kvamme
Partner, Drive Capital
Largest Inaugural Venture Capital Fund

David Dean
Street Luge World Champion
International Downhill Federation

Katherine Bovee, Team CaptainDr. Giorgio Rizzoni, Faculty Advisor and Director of the Center for Automotive Research, & David Emerling, Industry Collaborations Director
Ohio State EcoCAR 2
Winner EcoCAR Challenge

Columbus Children’s Theatre & Emma Lou Andrews
Top Production Award and Best Female All Festival Performance
Junior Theatre Festival, Atlanta

New Albany Arts Council & Mitchell Kallner
Top Production Award and Freddie G Award for Excellent Individual Performance by a Male
Junior Theatre Festival, Atlanta

Julie Bray, Ashton Cofer, & Luke Clay
Gahanna Students
First Place, eCybermission/Earthquake Resistant Structures
U.S. Army Research, Development and Engineering Command

The National Number Ones event is held each February, commemorating the birthday of the City of Columbus. This year’s luncheon also recognized the day of Mardi Gras, with special guest Byron Stripling, and the 75th birthday of Aminah Robinson, a local artist of conscience and international acclaim. Ending with a panel of business, government, and athletic expertise from leaders Nancy Kramer, founder and leader of the country’s largest independent, digitally led marketing agency, Resource/Ammirati, Gene Smith, Athletic Director for The Ohio State University, and Mayor Michael B. Coleman, the longest serving mayor in the country, the event captured The Spirit of Columbus and inspired all to strengthen and improve our community.



About The Columbus Foundation

The Columbus Foundation is the trusted philanthropic advisor® to more than 2,000 individuals, families, businesses, and communities that have created unique funds to make a difference in the lives of others through the most effective philanthropy possible. Serving the region for 70 years, The Columbus Foundation is the seventh largest community foundation in the United States. The Foundation’s online giving marketplace, PowerPhilanthropy®, makes it possible for everyone to access valuable information about nonprofit organizations in central Ohio.