Skip to Content
December 15, 2017


Contact: Carol Harmon, The Columbus Foundation,, 614/251-4000

The Columbus Foundation Announces 2018 Governing Committee

George S. Barrett appointed to the Governing Committee

Columbus, OH (December 15, 2017)—The Columbus Foundation has announced the appointment of officers and members to serve on its Governing Committee in 2018. The announcement was made at the Committee’s board meeting held on December 13, 2017.

The Columbus Foundation, the trusted philanthropic advisor® to more than 2,500 individuals, families, and businesses, is led by a nine-member Governing Committee of volunteers who provide stewardship for the Foundation and its charitable activities.

Appointed as the newest member of the committee is George S. Barrett, who has served as chairman and CEO of Cardinal Health since 2009.

George S. Barrett

In addition, Barrett serves on the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, the Board of Trustees of the Corporation of Brown University, and the Board of Directors for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. He is also chairman of the Healthcare Leadership Council.

In Columbus, Barrett co-chaired the City of Columbus Mayor’s Education Commission, he is co-chair of Future Ready Columbus, serves on the board of Nationwide Children’s Hospital and the Columbus Downtown Development Corporation and is on the executive committee of the Columbus Partnership. Barrett initiated the Columbus Performing Arts Prize and serves as a mentor for the Bright Fellowship to develop education leaders.

Barrett has been named by Institutional Investor magazine as a top CEO multiple times, including in 2017. He received the Peter G. Peterson Business Statesmanship Award from the Committee for Economic Development, which recognizes corporate executives who champion issues in the interest of the public good, rather than their company or personal interests, and who hold themselves to the highest standards of ethics and integrity.

Barrett earned his BA from Brown University and an MBA from New York University. He has been awarded multiple honorary doctorates, including one from the Columbus College of Art and Design. He is a recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor, which is awarded annually to a group of distinguished American citizens who exemplify a life dedicated to community service.

“The opportunity to serve The Columbus Foundation in this capacity is an honor,” said Barrett. “The Foundation and its donors have long been known for a tradition of generosity that enables a wide range of strategic investments that move our community forward.”

Matthew D. Walter, Founder and Managing Partner of Talisman Capital Partners, is serving a second year as Chairman of the Governing Committee. Nancy Kramer, Chief Evangelist of IBM iX, as well as the Founder of Resource/Ammirati, is also serving a second term as Vice Chairman.

Governing Committee Members continuing to serve in 2018 are Joseph A. Chlapaty, Michael P. Glimcher, Lisa A. Hinson, C. Robert Kidder, Dwight E. Smith, and Katie Wolfe Lloyd.

Retiring from the Committee is David P. Blom, who completed six years of service at the end of 2017. 

About The Columbus Foundation

The Columbus Foundation is the trusted philanthropic advisor® to more than 2,500 individuals, families, and businesses that have created unique funds and planned gifts to make a difference in the lives of others through the most effective philanthropy possible. More than 70 years strong, The Columbus Foundation is the eighth largest community foundation in the United States. The Foundation’s new Giving Store is a one-stop shop for easy and effective philanthropy. Learn more at